Options

UK CISSP experience from 27/03/11

jimmingtonjimmington Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Evening Chaps

I have been reading this site with great interest in the wait for my results to come through and have found it to be an informative and supportive environment, so thank you for that!

However, I was in 2 minds whether to post or not, as i am not sure if people would approve of my route to the exam, but i feel it is worth sharing all experiences.

To give some background, i have been working in IT for just under 15 years now, of which 12 have been in what i would class as a "secure" environment. The bulk of my experience had been network security from a technical standpoint, but that has shifted recently into a more procedural orientated role - which initially i found quite hard to enjoy, but i am now settling into it quite nicely.

To get back in the swing of things i took the Security+ in November which i found fairly straightforward if i am honest. I then decided to investigate the CISSP - there was lots of talk from my peers about it, but not a lot of action. I had purchased a CISSP book the size of a house the same time as i bought a Security+ book, but as it turned out, in the end, neither got read.

So instead i decided to take the CBK review seminar which lasted a week.
Well... what can i say. To sum it up in one word, intense!