Is it worth it for a newbie to take the MCITP exam for Windows 7?

heideggerheidegger Member Posts: 22 ■□□□□□□□□□
The 680 one? I have no experience and am trying to complete an AS degree in systems support/help desk.

Comments

• SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod
    If you put in an honest effort, which would include both reading and making sure you get some hands-on experience with the things you're learning, then it's definitely worth it. I'd recommend picking up a copy of MCTS Self-Paced Training Kit (Exam 70-680): Configuring Windows® 7, it's a fairly good read and has end-of-chapter lab assignments for you to do so that you get a chance to actually configure Windows 7 and play with the features you just read about.

Chances are, having a good understanding of how Windows 7 works is going to help you in your future career, as will the MCTS status the 70-680 exam gives you. This exam is also a great stepping-stone to other certs, like MCITP: Enterprise Administrator, for example.

Good luck with your studies! icon_thumright.gif

Free Microsoft Training: Microsoft Learn
    Free PowerShell Resources: Top PowerShell Blogs
    Free DevOps/Azure Resources: Visual Studio Dev Essentials

Let it never be said that I didn't do the very least I could do.
  • Dr ITDr IT Member Posts: 351 ■■■■□□□□□□
    As your work in the Help Desk role ( and pre assuming your users have Win 7 ) i see 680 as a great exam for you and could be handy.

You can use Virtual Box and any virtualization tool to install an Win 7 OS and get some practice . i Completed my Win Xp exam when i pretty much didnot have any working experience so i think it is doable

Good Luck
    Venturing in to the Unknown

Target 2018 : SSCP VCP- DTM

The Difference between the Ordinary and the Extra-Ordinary is that Little " Extra ".
  • Dakinggamer87Dakinggamer87 Member Posts: 4,016 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Good luck in studies!! icon_thumright.gif