New to IT Security

Hi,

I am new to IT security and was wondering if anyone could give me a break down of the different IT security areas I could work in?

Thanks!

Comments

• NOC-NinjaNOC-Ninja Member Posts: 1,403
    Click the "Search" button first at the top right button.

JDMurray has a link that lists security certifications.

I don't want to be mean but how are you going to survive in IT if you cant even search on your own? You will have to Google/search any Security/networking/system problems that is not in the book.

Now to answer your question, start with: "CompTIA Security +"
  • rob1234rob1234 Banned Posts: 151
    NOC-Ninja wrote: »
    Click the "Search" button first at the top right button.

JDMurray has a link that lists security certifications.

I don't want to be mean but how are you going to survive in IT if you cant even search on your own? You will have to Google/search any Security/networking/system problems that is not in the book.

Now to answer your question, start with: "CompTIA Security +"

Don't worry about being mean I am survivng in IT very well. I thought about the Security + but I am after a cert that will help me progress in the IT security world I have a lot of IT certs a few CompTIA ones but they are not that great I feel.

I am thinking of doing the CISSP that looks a good security cert.
  • docricedocrice Member Posts: 1,706 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Which certs do you already have? You might want to list them in your profile so the rest of us can see where you're coming from. There are also a couple of stickies at the top of this forum which can shed some insight on this subject, as it comes up often.