Exchange 2003 to 2010 mailbox

mikedisd2mikedisd2 Member Posts: 1,096 ■■■■■□□□□□
I'm performing few mailbox migrations as part of an Exchange upgrade from 2003 to 2010. Nearly all users have been successfully migrated but 1x user has a mailbox of 6+GB sitting on 2003 so it has been left last. I setup an Outlook profile and archived his folders to a few .PSTs and got his mailbox down to ~600MB.

On the Exchange 2010 box, when I go to excecute the 'New Local Move Request' wizard, it still states a mailbox size of 6GB. The real problem here is that it contains a number of corrupted messages so it promptly fails.

Any ideas on how to get past this?

EDIT: I'm thinking that 2010 needs have a refreshed view of the legacy mailbox? Don't know, I'm kinda new to Ex2010.

Comments

• jibbajabbajibbajabba Member Posts: 4,317 ■■■■■■■■□□
    On the move settings you can specify to skip corrupt messages

15mgwp5.jpg

Maximum number of mails to be skipped is 50 though. Any value higher than that needs to be done via EMS otherwise it will fail still.

As for the wrong size, is it reporting the new size correctly in the System Manager of Exchange 2003 ? If not, have a look here :

Microsoft KB891789
    My own knowledge base made public: http://open902.com :p
  • RTmarcRTmarc Member Posts: 1,082 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Just to add to what he said, the corrupted messages can't be read by the Exchange server. Go ahead and drop them. I've had to do this in the past.
  • it_consultantit_consultant Member Posts: 1,903
    You have to do this in EMS by tacking on "-allowlargedataloss".
  • mikedisd2mikedisd2 Member Posts: 1,096 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Gomjaba wrote: »
    On the move settings you can specify to skip corrupt messages

15mgwp5.jpg

Maximum number of mails to be skipped is 50 though. Any value higher than that needs to be done via EMS otherwise it will fail still.

As for the wrong size, is it reporting the new size correctly in the System Manager of Exchange 2003 ? If not, have a look here :