Options

70-680 Another Fail Story

eliphas0eliphas0 Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
Sat the 70-680 today and felt I have a good mastery of the topics and subject matter going in.
Well I can thank the MS Pres Guide for that false sense of security, (and my 556 Score)
Despite numerous negative reviews of it (and my own distaste for it) I used it and the Prep Logic Megaguide, which is essentially a recap of the MS Press Book.

Many of the questions had little to do with Windows 7 or its features, which I know I was able to answer correctly due to studying for the 70-642 and passing the 70-622.

My Best Advice is practice using 7 in a Domain with Server 2008 and use Something other than the MS Press Guide for this (or the 70-622 Exam) and to give yourself more than a week and a half to prepare.

I will be retaking the the exam in the form of the 70-682. Sometime in the next few months.

Comments

• Options
    PsoasmanPsoasman Member Posts: 2,687 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Sorry to hear you didn't pass. If you are going for the 682, then you should study for the 685 as well. the 682 covers material from both exams.
    Darril Gibson's book covering the 685/686 is pretty good. I've heard good things about Poulton's book as well.
  • Options
    LCALCA Member Posts: 215
    Sorry to read you missed out.

Re that MS Press guide you mention. It's not a very good manual and is inadequate for 680 IMHO.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

http://sqlsnapshots.blogspot.com/ - My SQL Server exam resources blog
  • Options
    LCA, do you have any suggestions for other materials I can use.

I just looked over reviews for the Sybex and other Guide listed up top and both of those received poor reviews as well.

I'm going to generally avoid the MS Press Guides in the future as I nearly failed the 70-622 and felt that had a lot to do with the MS Press Guide.

I do plan on taking advantage of the Testout free trial for the 70-680, do you
    or anyone have an opinion on it?

Thanks icon_study.gif
  • Options