NTLDR not found on Windows 98????

s0c0s0c0 Member Posts: 76 ■■□□□□□□□□
So I am studying for the OS side of the A plus. I installed windows 98 the other day seeing as I've never used it before (went from 95 to 2000 pro). I put it on a spare hard drive, install went fine. I boot the drive the next day and get NTLDR not found. From my reading Windows 98 does not use the NTLDR as the boot loader, I forget what it does use, but I know it's not NTLDR. So my book contains nothing about resolving this. I went into the command prompt and tried rewritting the mbr with 'fdisk /mbr' (which may only work with NT based systems). After this did nothing to fix the problem I did an F&R, same problem.

It sounds like I bought a bad HDD. It sounds like the MBR is not being rewritten correctly when I install the O.S. Any ideas on how to fix this or do I maybe have a bad hard drive. Thanks.

Comments

• jescabjescab Inactive Imported Users Posts: 1,321
    Make sure the hard drives are jumpered correctly. I had this message on an in-correctly jumpered hard drive once.
    GO STEELERS GO - STEELERS RULE
  • s0c0s0c0 Member Posts: 76 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Good call. I didn't event think to check the jumper settings!
  • PlantwizPlantwiz Mod Posts: 5,057 Mod
    I've not seen it happen with a W98 install so perhaps something else is going on here. Before I dive into that, here are some links you may find useful:

http://www.webopedia.com/TERM/N/NTLDR.html
    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?id=kb;en-us;Q314057
    http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=255220

1. DId you have a dual boot system at some point?
    2. Which brand of HDD do you have? You may wish to run HDD Diagnostics on it if you suspect it is failing.
    3. Check your setting in the BIOS - be certain the drive is recognized
    4. Double check cables and jumpers

Otherwise, FDISK/mbr should have permitted you a clean install. How did you run your install? From the CD? Or did you copy to the HDD and install from there?