Options

CISM without enough experience

mathiasmmathiasm Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi there,

I recently passed the CISSP certification and endorsement process, and are now looking towards the next certification step.

I would like to work with security management, so the CISM CISA are interesting for me. Of course I've got the 5 years of experience in the it security field (since i passed the CISSP endorsement), but i don't have any management experience.

I guess i could take the exam anyways but i won't be able to get the certificate, and how good is it without anyway?

I've tried to find information at the isaca site regarding which experience that counts. Does it have to be full time professional management or can i try to find a volunteer job?

If i take the exam without any experience and without any prerequisites to starting getting some experience, i guess i only have 5 years to getting the necessary experience or i'll have to retake the exam?

Is it the same thing with the CISA?

Are there any other certs you could recommend me taking, that would bring me ind the management direction and that i can take without management experience?

I was also thinking of taking a diploma in leadership, to supply the management part of the job...

Best regards

Mathias

Comments

• Options
    colemiccolemic Member Posts: 1,569 ■■■■■■■□□□
    Don't confuse security management with being a 'manager'. All you need is verifiable work experience from three of the five domains.

Domain 1—Information Security Governance
    Domain 2—Information Risk Management
    Domain 3—Information Security Program Development
    Domain 4—Information Security Program Management
    Domain 5—Incident Management & Response

For the Work Experience Requirement: (directly from How to Become CISM Certified)