Options

Passed on Saturday

soooowutnowsoooowutnow Member Posts: 83 ■■■□□□□□□□
I got an 827. I was really sweating it while the screens were loading. Some of the subject matter was not in Darril's book.

I really like the security subject matter. Here is a question for you guys. I have an associates degree in Computer Networking, do I need the N+?

I already have A+ and now S+.

I am thinking MCSA is next, then CCNA, then MSCE.
2018 Achievements:
Cloud Essentials SME
Project+
CRISC

2019 To conquer:
Maybe CGEIT? I don't know - help!

Comments

• Options
    JinuyrJinuyr Member Posts: 251 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I've seen a number of Associate programs include IT certifications as a part of their curriculum so it probably doesn't hurt to take it if you're still at the level where that certification would be helpful. If you've been in the industry for a while now, then maybe something more challenging or specialized to what you are doing or would like to do.

Based on my experiences doing IT for the hospitality industry, the degree lets you in the door while the certification lets you further your career once you're in it. Mind you every exprience will be different and your situation may be different as well, but in the cities I have worked at most people didn't care about the certifications until after I was hired.

Me for example, I'm taking the Security+ because security as a whole has been a really big thing in our organization, and our company entrusts every level of IT to play a certain role in managing a certain aspect of their user's and server security. Mind you this is also for separation of duties and to help keep everyone well rounded.
  • Options
    JinuyrJinuyr Member Posts: 251 ■■□□□□□□□□
    By the way, what areas were not covered by Darril's book? I'm curious to know soo I can brush up on it before my test in a few days.
  • Options
    DeathgomperDeathgomper Member Posts: 356 ■■■□□□□□□□
  • Options