How do stay motivated to study?

dsa1971dsa1971 Member Posts: 52 ■■□□□□□□□□
Not just motivation for 1 exam but for the many exams required for certs like MCSE. I've been in IT for about 10 years and never had that much motivation to get certified but I do like technology so I've have always read about other areas of IT that I don't always use just because I find them interesting. Anyway, I'm currently studying for A+ and then plan on going after Network+ and then maybe MCDST. My plan is to complete these certs over the next 6 months. I tend to be overly cautious by nature so I tend to study more than may be necessary to pass the exams but I guess that's okay. I am wondering how everybody stays motivated to keep studying over long periods of time. Right now, I'm really motivated and I hope I can keep that up long-term. I'm motivated by trying to get certified so I can move into a different area in IT, get out of my current job, general interest in the information I am studying, and the good feeling of having certs to validate some of my knowledge.

Comments

• /usr/usr Member Posts: 1,768
    I don't study nonstop, year around. I usually take breaks, maybe even for 3 months or so, before really starting to study for another exam. If you try to study as much as you can for an extended period of time, you're going to burn yourself out and be completely sick of it.
  • dsa1971dsa1971 Member Posts: 52 ■■□□□□□□□□
    /usr wrote:
    I don't study nonstop, year around. I usually take breaks, maybe even for 3 months or so, before really starting to study for another exam. If you try to study as much as you can for an extended period of time, you're going to burn yourself out and be completely sick of it.

I agree. I'll probably take a couple of weeks off between exams but I currently feel like I need to get a few of these certs on my resume within the next 6 months.