Going that Extra Step

sina2011sina2011 Member Posts: 239 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys

I had a question Im currently studying for exchange 2010 (using the MS press book half way through the book) I was wondering after I finish the book should I setup a exchange server so it could be accessed from the outside world as I'm new to I.T I dont have much info on it I have read a few threads on this section about how to make it happen.

Not to go off topic but as I'm a beginner If I get a job role that they use exchange as a junior am I expected to set up exchange to be working from the outside world,or setting it up comes with the experience.

I would appreciate everybody input.

Thanks.

Comments

• PovilasPovilas Member Posts: 77 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Basically, you need public IP address (static) on Exchange server, domain name belonging to you, and MX record pointing to your Exchange servers IP address (in DNS server authoritative for your domain).
    2013 to do list:
    [70-413] [70-414]
  • ChooseLifeChooseLife Member Posts: 941 ■■■■■■■□□□
    sina2011 wrote: »
    should I setup a exchange server so it could be accessed from the outside world as I'm new to I.T I dont have much info on it
    Just a word of precaution: since it sounds like you have little experience with managing servers, if you decide to make an Exchange (or any other) server accessible from Internet, it won't take long until the server gets hacked and you could not even notice it. So, if you decide to practice,

a) make it completely isolated from your home network. separate public IP, separate network, passwords unique to this environment, no connections/tunnels between this server and home network
    b) read documentation on hardening: servers in general, mail servers, and Exchange servers
    c) take time to configure your firewall properly