Personal Advice Regarding: CCNP SWITCH or CCDA

logan3logan3 Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,

I have a CCNA and am finishing up my CCNA Security. I'm a college student doing these, so only have enough extra money this summer to earn either one CCNP sub-certification (ROUTE, SWITCH or TSHOOT) or a CCDA (I plan to eventually earn them all in the future as income becomes available). I've also been holding off on applying for a new job since earning my Cisco certifications. So my question is:

With the given situation, which certification (a single CCNP sub-certification or CCDA) would provide a better presence on my resume?

Thank-you for your time and consideration.

Comments

• ChooseLifeChooseLife Member Posts: 941 ■■■■■■■□□□
    I haven't closely looked at CCDA exam blueprint myself yet, but read on these forums several times that it's best to tackle CCDA after gaining some CCNP-level knowledge.
    “You don’t become great by trying to be great. You become great by wanting to do something, and then doing it so hard that you become great in the process.” (c) xkcd #896

GetCertified4Less
    - discounted vouchers for certs
  • SteveO86SteveO86 Member Posts: 1,423
    Tough choice, may want to see what is in more demand in your area. Network Admin (CCNA/CCNP) or network engineer (CCDA/CCDP/CCNP). The CCDA may set apart then the normal CCNA network admin.

In all due honesty I think your better off furthering your Cisco knowledge with CCNP knowledge and getting some real world experience.

Both paths have their advantages, and if you dedicate enough time to your CCNP you'll finish it off in time.
    My Networking blog
    Latest blog post: Let's review EIGRP Named Mode
    Currently Studying: CCNP: Wireless - IUWMS
  • CCNP11CCNP11 Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□