In junior year - will Associate of ISC2 help?

lm10lm10 Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi,

I am an aspiring Information Security engineer currently enrolled in a BS in Information Technology in India. I would be applying for an MS in CS with a concentration in Information Security in November.

My questions are:

1. For a person with absolutely no experience except undergrad coursework, which is the correct exam to go for? SSCP or CISSP? From what I can see CISSP has around 60,000 certified professionals while there are only around 600 for the SSCP.

2. Closely related to the above - is there any difference in value of the exams for a complete fresher? I know the CISSP has 3 more modules to study.

3. Would passing either of these exams bolster my application for my Master's? This is particularly crucial because my coursework and possibly the CISSP/SSCP is going to be my only relevant experience on my resume. We just don't have intern jobs in India for aspiring InfoSec engineers.

Finally, as I have no experience, my certification will be awarded as an Associate of ISC2 (right?). In that case, how do I go about showing which one of the exams I passed on my resume?

Comments

• Bl8ckr0uterBl8ckr0uter Inactive Imported Users Posts: 5,031 ■■■■■■■■□□
    lm10 wrote: »
    Hi,

I am an aspiring Information Security engineer currently enrolled in a BS in Information Technology in India. I would be applying for an MS in CS with a concentration in Information Security in November.

Welcome.

Right off the back I would like clarification. What does an information security engineer mean to you? It is better to answer with job responsibilities rather than titles since titles are not standardized across the board.

My questions are:

1. For a person with absolutely no experience except undergrad coursework, which is the correct exam to go for? SSCP or CISSP? From what I can see CISSP has around 60,000 certified professionals while there are only around 600 for the SSCP.