VPN How To

jdog29jdog29 Member Posts: 49 ■■□□□□□□□□
Kinda new to VPN. Does anybody know of a tutorial or can explain how to and what is needed to set up a VPN. Thanks, Good Day

JDog29

Comments

• Ricka182Ricka182 Member Posts: 3,359
    Tons of info on Vpns, and a whole lot more....here...
    i remain, he who remains to be....
  • jdog29jdog29 Member Posts: 49 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Sweet find Ricka182 Thanks a bunch. I have been reading all that info for hours.. very cool.

One other quick question. I am relatively new to VPN's, I understand how they work and all. But doesn't it take a server and server software exchange to implement. I would like to set up a few computers to be able to access a few other computer across town in office. VPN looks like the way to go. Thanks for all your input guys.

JDog29
  • JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin
    If you are shopping for VPN servers, I've use the SSL-Explorer VPN server found at SourceForge.net (sourceforge.net/projects/sslexplorer/). SSL-Explorer runs on non-server Windows operating systems (e.g., Windows 2000 Professional, Windows XP Professional, etc.), has a Java-based web client management interface, and is freely available under the Gnu Public License (GPL). There is the OpenVPN server (openvpn.net), which is also an SSL/TLS-based VPN server released under the GPL. However, OpenVPN does not (yet) have the ability to support web-based clients, if that's important to you.
    I tried the SSL Explorer you mentioned above and played around with it for a bit with no luck. It was confusing and I did not get much accomplished. I might have to look into something like PCAnywhere, or GoToMyPC. Anybody ever heard of these softwares that create VPN. I am looking for somethng simple to be able to access office computers from home and vice versa. Need Advice. Please anybody.

Thanks,

JDog29