Options

Security Certificatioin Advice

JinuyrJinuyr Member Posts: 251 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone,

I was wondering if the community could provide me with a bit of feedback on my chosen certification and degree path for my current profession.

Currently, I have seven (7) years of experience in the IT industry. For five of those years I worked as a Desktop Technician, Network/Server/Security Administrator, and IT Manager. Two of them were spent as a Database Administrator using MS SQL.

I have noticed a number of threads comparing the different security certifications and their value within the community and organization. I hope to continue my role within IT focusing primarily on Microsoft technologies and Security. Networking will rely mainly on HP ProCurve network rather than Cisco. After speaking to numerous IT professionals, my organization, the TE community, and an (ISC)2 representative it was concluded that I possessed the requirements for experience to complete the CISSP. I am currently pursuing this certification as it has a much higher impact and need for my current role and I am actively involved in projects that relate directly to a number of the domains covered in this exam.

Past that however, there is a question regarding the next step in security. CISM, C|EH, and a few of the certification I saw regarding security. For my long term goals and those that my organization would like me to be able to accomplish include the following: Vulnerability Assessment, Penetration Testing, Risk Analysis and Mangemant, Disaster Recovery Planning, and Business Continuity Planning. I did a number of these previously at another company.

I assume that Project+ would be a good supplement in getting these items done on time and efficiently. The CISSP would help to validate my knowledge in most of these areas.

Sorry for being wordy... So what do you think? CISSP enough? Go for C|EH and/or CISM? Find another security certification?

Completed: Network+, Security+