Will I ever pass another MS Exam?

jmritenourjmritenour Member Posts: 565
I took 70-294 this morning after growing tired of the sheer frustration of 70-293. I came up short here too with a 626. Way better than I've done on my 70-293 attempts. If you would've asked me 6 months ago, I would've said I felt way more confident with a network infrastructure exam than an AD infrastructure.

I really thought I had this one. When I clicked submit, I was expecting it to be in the low 700s, but a pass nonetheless. I had around 8-10 sims, and only one really had me second guessing myself. The others seemed easy and straight forward.

I'm really starting to doubt I can do this. I've got a ton of experience across the board, but unfortunately, not enough of it is with Windows server at an enterprise level doing AD. My previous job, we were a Novell (ugh) shop running eDirectory with a few Windows member servers. My current job, I'm an admin at a 24x7 coloc data center, but again, most of out customers are using Windows as a member server. The handful that do have domain environments, we don't manage their AD.

I think this and 70-293 are pretty much impossible without a LOT of "real world" experience. I lab stuff up and down, but I feel like I'm not labbing the *right stuff*.
"Start by doing what is necessary, then do what is possible; suddenly, you are doing the impossible." - St. Francis of Assisi

Comments

• Cthu1huCthu1hu Member Posts: 52 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Don't get discouraged friend. You can do it. I got all the way through MCSA without ever dropping an exam, than dropped the 293 than the 294 and so on. I understand how you feel, trust me I've been there. An MCSE is a well earned cert in my opinion, its not an easy route at all. Get more than one book and defnitely get your study material from different sources. Learn all you can and you'll get it. You'll be there before you know it!
  • DevilsbaneDevilsbane Member Posts: 4,214 ■■■■■■■■□□