Newbie here

silverh20silverh20 Member Posts: 14 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys, just registered here for a little support. I've begun the process of taking on the CISSP exam. Just purchased the Shon Harris 5th ed box set.icon_rolleyes.gif

I'm a little nervous about taking this on as I've get extremely strong IT experience in the small business sector but 0% corporate experience. I don't have a corporate sponsor either so this isn't going to be cheap for me icon_cry.gif

I'm 25 and have been doing IT since I was 11. I've been running/maintaining/working at a small repair shop for 9 years. Nowadays I make consistent managerial/administrative/technical decisions regarding prevention, maintenance, & planning for the local small businesses our company supports.

I'm also the one deploying those decisions in the field most of the time, and always end up educating the end user during deployment. Basically I'm almost a one man show/jack of all trades.

I know it's hard to give advice to people about CISSP examination because everyone's skill sets & experience vary widely, but with my brief self-description in mind, do you guys think my background will help me?

Comments

• TunYauTunYau Member Posts: 58 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Try the Sean harris question quiz and see how you progress you should be ok if you get 70% above
  • silverh20silverh20 Member Posts: 14 ■□□□□□□□□□
    ok thanks.

also, so far ive already done a bunch of practice quizes (free ones) at cccure.org with all domains selected, and difficulty at the highest, and with no studying i consistently get 65% of 25 questions correct. usually the ones i dont get right involve government protocols or involve heavy management related experience icon_silent.gif
  • NerdGirl67NerdGirl67 Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□