Entry level MCTS certs

Xapt3r2ooXXapt3r2ooX Member Posts: 21 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone. I am new to Techexams and I have been working in the computer repair field for 4 years. I believe it time for a change and get into a networking or server admin career. I have an A+ certification, have completed the Cisco CCNA Academy 3 years ago, and currently a field technician. I would like to know what are the best MS certs i should attempt to get in the field

My goal is to become a Server/Enterprise Administrator, but I know i need experience first. Is MCITP Enterprise Desktop Admin a good idea? I have CBT nuggets, microsoft self paced training kit, and cbt nuggets. I am planning on using all 3 sources to learn the material and pass the test. I am looking towards reading a chapter, watching the CBT nuggets video, and then using testout for notes, practice tests, and lab sim.

Please let me know what your think and any recommendations.

Comments

• JinuyrJinuyr Member Posts: 251 ■■□□□□□□□□
    This exam is very heavy on actual knowledge of the operating system and deployment environments. I've learned a lot by creating VMWare sessions and applying everything I've learned from the MS Press book and tweaking things a bit to see what other parameters and options are taking me. 70-680 is no joke, so make sure you're prepared.
  • PsoasmanPsoasman Member Posts: 2,687 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I would start with the 680 or 685 exams, then move onto the 686. You definitely need a lab for these exams, I am using Virtual Box for this. You are expected to have some server knowledge / experience for the 680 exam.
    If you use the MS press 680 book, make sure to get the errata threads and make the corrections....will save you hours of aggravation icon_wink.gif I used Darril's book for the 685 exam and for the 686 I'll get around to taking some day. The MS press 685 and 686 books are pretty good.
  • Xapt3r2ooXXapt3r2ooX Member Posts: 21 ■□□□□□□□□□