Options

CAPM vs PMP

techtimetechtime Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
Ok so I am not sure which I qualify for and if the CAPM is even worth it. I have a 4 year degree and was a proj manager for 6mo after college 4 yrs ago. That gives me 960 hrs of leading projects. Currently my title is project lead 1 yr = about 2000 hrs. I think I only qualify for the capm, but is this a cert that people even look for?

Comments

• Options
    instant000instant000 Member Posts: 1,745
    Most people do not know what the CAPM is, to be honest.

I didn't know what it was until a friend had it, and told me about it. (Of course, I had heard of the PMP, but the PMP takes a lot of work to get to.)

If we have some PMP's on this forum, hopefully they pipe in on this topic. ... Which had me thinking, is there a forum for those PMI-certed folks to talk on? I checked at the PMI site, but ... not much getting on there, I suspect it might be behind the login page ... no idea.

EDIT: You lack the experience for PMP, but you apparently have enough for CAPM. If the hiring manager has a PMP, they will probably know what CAPM is.
    Currently Working: CCIE R&S
    LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/lewislampkin (Please connect: Just say you're from TechExams.Net!)
  • Options
    GAngelGAngel Member Posts: 708 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I have my PMP and had never heard fo CAPM until I started studying for it. The best way to know if its recognized is to search your local job boards and see how many hits it gets. It may help you to get into a PMO though with limited experience.

If i had to do them again I would have done six sigma as that's more IT ptroject focused.
  • Options
    JinuyrJinuyr Member Posts: 251 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I've worked with a number of PMPs over the years, and I have never heard of people who are CAPM certified.
  • Options
    All4QualityAll4Quality Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM)