Options

Best design for hub & spoke topology?

TesseracTTesseracT Member Posts: 167
Hey guys I'm not sure if this is the right forum for this but it is a design question + I'm studying for the DA and DP as we speak.

We're using a basic hub & spoke topology / star topology here at work and I'm wondering if there's any way to improve it.

At the core is an ASA which all the satellite offices connect to (around 10 remote offices). These offices all connect back via an IPSEC site to site VPN and in most cases the satellite offices can communicate with eachother. This is all done via static routes

Is there a better way of doing this? MPLS would be nice but way too expensive. Also, these offices are literally all around the globe each in a different country.

DMVPN would be nice but not available for the ASA as far as I'm aware.

Can an IGP be used here in the place of static routes? Considering the topology and the fact that site to site tunnels are used here I'm not really convinced that it's an option.

What would you guys do in this situation? Everything works ok at the moment but wondering how scalable this solution is if we hit some fast growth...

Comments

• Options
    Forsaken_GAForsaken_GA Member Posts: 4,024
    Unless there's actually a problem you need to solve, leave it be.

You could use an IGP to handle your routing needs, but there's a tradeoff - circuits which connect to the public internet can be a fickle *****, and if one of them starts flapping, it can screw with the routing performance of the entire company. With 10 sites, I wouldn't bother, that's still a small enough amount that administrating static routes is not a huge burden.

What problems are you trying to solve? Is there a specific performance issue that can be attributed to the network design? Are your traffic levels high enough that aggregating back to the central site is causing packet loss?