Options

Don't put much value in the CISSP

2»

Comments

• Options
    tpatt100tpatt100 Member Posts: 2,991 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I don't work in engineering or systems administration. I am however experienced in managing/performing security testing, audits, and compliance efforts. I also have done hands on packet level security work. To be honest I actually respected the cert more when I was a sysadmin.

I'm sorry, but passing an exam doesn't really earn my respect. I have no doubt its a difficult exam, as I have read CISSP study material. I know it doesn't make you particularly good at one thing or the other, however the perception that the CISSP is the best security certification out there is getting old.

I chose not to take the exam. I read material to even possibly take the exam at one point. To get my DoD IA Tech III certification I chose GCIH over CISSP.

I'm just sharing my opinion on why I think the CISSP is overhyped beyond belief. I realize you have the certification, and I'm glad you find value in it. I actually mentioned in my post I will end up taking it at some point.

You chose the GCIH over the CISSP because you think the CISSP is over hyped. I wish the CISSP was an open book test like the GCIH, I might have passed it the first time I took it since I know I blanked out on straight memorization stuff.
  • Options
    cabrillo24cabrillo24 Member Posts: 137
    tpatt100 wrote: »
    You chose the GCIH over the CISSP because you think the CISSP is over hyped. I wish the CISSP was an open book test like the GCIH, I might have passed it the first time I took it since I know I blanked out on straight memorization stuff.

Let's not go dismissing or undermining the credibility of certifications.
    Next Up...
    CCNA: Security (210-260)
    Date: TBD
  • Options
    tpatt100tpatt100 Member Posts: 2,991 ■■■■■■■■■□
    cabrillo24 wrote: »
    Let's not go dismissing or undermining the credibility of certifications.