Need basic 70-680 help

GomjabberGomjabber Member Posts: 19 ■□□□□□□□□□
My situation is this:

I've worked mostly as a phone tech for the last 20 years. My company provides a basket of services, so I get a little of everything, but definitely not enough on the computer/networking side. A few years ago I realized I needed to upgrade my skills, and then a series of brutal pay cuts (totalling 33%) has only exacerbated that feeling. So I went out and got A+ and Net+. But when I started looking around out there, I realized I needed a lot more hands on experience. I'm willing to start out as a help desk tech and hopefully work my way up. Which led me to the 70-680.

I'm not a computer superstar by any means. When I go on tech forums like these, some of the conversations leave me scratching my head. But A+ helped a lot. I see some guys who say they studied for a week or two and then passed. I'm just not that kind of guy. I studied A+ for 10 months. But I passed it, and I smoked the Net+ too. So I can say I work hard and I try.

Now in starting the 70-680, I'm running into some difficulties. I'm getting into some new areas here, that I have no familiarity with. But I have a lot of determination and I'm going to make this happen. So onto the questions. If these seem Luddity to most of you, my apologies.

1. I need to get squared away on the labbing aspect my studies. I'm using the MS-Press Training kit book, and it says I can do the labs using virtual machines. I know little about virtualization, but last night I went to VmWare and downloaded their player and it was all pretty simple. My machine at home is a W7 HP. I wanted to put W7 on the virtual machine and leave my OS alone. But when I tried to download the W7 evaluation copy from Microsoft, the confirmation email never arrived. So I now I have a virtual machine with no OS installed.