Cover Letter Assistance and Best Practices

TommyBaumTommyBaum Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey everyone,

I am applying for a position at big international company in a NOC department. The opening was refereed to me by a friend that currently works within the department.

This will be my "first" entry level position and the first time I have applied to a corporation. Thus far I have only had one IT job and that was more as an A+ technician (I only stayed with the company 6 months before I had to leave due to family issues). The problem is that was nearly a year ago and since then I have not been working within the field.

I have completed CCNA and CCNP courses at my local Community College and had time on real devices. I am CCNA, Comptia S+,A+, and N+ certified, although I am quite out of practice due to taking CCNA 3 years ago and not working with networks for a year. Furthermore I graduated highschool last year, which accounts for my lack of experience.

I do have references and letters of recommendations from my cisco instructor and my former supervisor.

What would be greatly beneficial would be advice to obtain the job.

I have the direct contact information for the manager of the department and my friend has chatted me up a bit to him.
I plan on writing a quasi "cover letter" to him in the body of the email when I send in my resume, but should I also create a general cover letter for HR? And if so what should I add to get it approved by them? I really hate the posturing that goes on in cover letters that are riddled with corporate buzz words that contain little meaning or any true value.
But I do understand that it is their game so I will be forced to play by their rules.