Certification Path Advice Anyone????

degreshdegresh Registered Users Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm currently studying for my A + exam. I was planning on going for NET + and Security + next but I've been considering not even getting the Sec + or NET + and just going straight for the CCNA. I want to build a solid foundation and be well rounded, but I think the Cisco certs hold more weight and will get me a better job. Any advice?

Comments

• Asif DaslAsif Dasl Member Posts: 2,116 ■■■■■■■■□□
  • ibcritnibcritn Member Posts: 340
    First what do you want to do? Sounds like your starting out and you'll likely be in a support type role, but do you want to work towards working with Cisco switches/routers, etc.

If you do want to work with them the CCNA is a great choice. If you would prefer to stay server side then id say the 3 CompTIA with some MCTS leading to MCITP:SA

The CCNA will certainly help you land a job in a NOC early on likely doing support for Cisco stuff, but if thats not your passion you may not like your job....or be able to move up from that role
    CISSP | GCIH | CEH | CNDA | LPT | ECSA | CCENT | MCTS | A+ | Net+ | Sec+

Next Up: Linux+/RHCSA, GCIA
  • PsoasmanPsoasman Member Posts: 2,687 ■■■■■■■■■□
    degresh wrote: »
    I'm currently studying for my A + exam. I was planning on going for NET + and Security + next but I've been considering not even getting the Sec + or NET + and just going straight for the CCNA. I want to build a solid foundation and be well rounded, but I think the Cisco certs hold more weight and will get me a better job. Any advice?

I would do the the A+, N+, and S+. That should give you your foundation. I agree that the CCNA would be a good next step, if you wanted to get into networking. If you are interested in the desktop support or servers, then the MCITP tracks would be a good fit.

It all depends on where your interests are.
  • N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I would do A+ and S+ and then CCNA.