Advice on escaping the Helpdesk?

MC85MC85 Member Posts: 20 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all, I'm new to the board, seems like a good place for some advice. Anyway I graduated from college about three or so years ago, and since then I've pretty much been bouncing around a few helpdesk/tech support jobs. Currently working a Helpdesk Technician gig that pays $16/hr or so. The job is decent and I get to work from home a lot, but that said, phone support is getting pretty tiresome... I really want to get into more of a Sys Admin type job, but it seems like even for the Jr. Sys Admin jobs they want someone with prior experience. So you kinda end up with the "Can't get the job without experience, can't get experience without a job" problem. Any advice or useful certs? All I have for now is my A+, I could easily get a Network+ but I'm not sure it's worthwhile. And it seems like everybody and their momma is trying to get their MCP/MCSA/MCSE though I may go for those anyway. I'm also thinking location is a factor since it's pretty hard to find ANY work in Michigan. But still, I'm starting to get scared that I'll be stuck on the helpdesk forever. Seems like the only jobs I get calls about are other Helpdesk/Tech Support jobs. Pretty hard to get promoted from within these days too as nobody seems to be leaving their job and/or retiring in this economy.

Comments

• Repo ManRepo Man Member Posts: 300
    You're going to find it difficult to get a SA job with no experience no matter where you are especially with no certifications. Do you have a home server lab setup and are you familiar with doing administrative tasks on them? Do you have the skills/requirements that companies are going to look for in an admin(scripting, virtualization, etc?)