Certification path advice ? pls i'm a newbie

Jay The HackerJay The Hacker Registered Users Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
hi
i'm an undergraduate student & i planning of going for IS security

i luv using ubuntu, php, javascript .
i don't feel like taking Microsoft or Cisco certificate paths.
what certification should i start with?

here is what i think of
Linux+/LPIC-1 >>> security+ >>> Then just straight to CEH ?
OR
any suggestion between security+ & CEH?
OR
If I go other paths, which paths should i take?

Comments

• PsoasmanPsoasman Member Posts: 2,687 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I think you would be limiting yourself by not taking any Cisco or Microsoft certs. It helps to understand what and why networks work before you can secure them.
  • Jay The HackerJay The Hacker Registered Users Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
    hey thanks for the advice, Psoas.

yeah i shouldn't limit myself. well, if i go for networking , i'm a bit into Linux (may be CCNA/RHCSA) i might learn new things. but no microsoft.

i really like the GIAC certs too ><
    (GISF, GSEC & GWAPT)
    are they too expensive ??
  • Bl8ckr0uterBl8ckr0uter Inactive Imported Users Posts: 5,031 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I think as long as you don't limit your studies you will be "fine". HOWEVER since the vast majority of jobs use MS or Cisco, your job prospects might not be as great if you limit yourself to doing LPIC and CEH. With that said: