Question on installing ESXi Free on an HP DL-360

ITdudeITdude Member Posts: 1,181 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi,

I am just getting my feet wet here, so please bear with me.

I have an HP DL-360 G5 currently running Windows Server 2003 R2 x86. I have onboard Hardware RAID configured as 1 and 5. The OS is mirrored on drive C and the data drive D, is RAID 5.

I would like to unistall this completely, install ESXi free, then create a vm with Windows Server 2008R2. I have the ISO and license.

My questions are the following:

1. What is the best/easiest way to install ESXi free?

2. Do I need to mess with the current RAID configuration?

3. Can I use a usb flash drive with the ISO image on there to create the vm, or will I need to burn it to a DVD?

In other words can someone give me an idea of the most efficient and best practices method to accomplish the above?

I was originally going to just nuke the W2K3 install and install W2K8 on the hard drive but since I am studying VMware(along with other technology), I thought that this would be a great way to get more hands on experience, not to mention a more efficient system.

Any thoughts, ideas, suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

P.S. this box is currently only running 2GB RAM but I think it will be okay with the relatively low impact that ESXi provides.

Thanks!
I usually hang out on 224.0.0.10 (FF02::A) and 224.0.0.5 (FF02::5) when I'm in a non-proprietary mood.

Comments

• vColevCole Member Posts: 1,573 ■■■■■■■□□□
    1. The install of ESXi is very simple. Pop in the disk, and follow the 2-3 steps. It'll prompt you to choose which disk you want to install it on.
    2. If you'd like to use the RAID5 for a datastore for your 2008 VM - then no. RAID1 for OS and RAID5 for data is fine. Once install, configure things like: IP Address, Hostname, DNS Servers, etc.
    3.Using the VI Client you can install the OS to the VM a few ways:
        • Using the physical CD/DVD ROM drive of the host machine.