Victory is mine....."Passed CISSP"

Chivalry1Chivalry1 Member Posts: 569
After much hard work and studying. I have finally completed my journey!!! Got my results today 2:18 p.m.

CISSP Resources:

CBT Nugget
CISSP for Dummies
Shon Harris AIO CISSP 4th Edition
Official Guide to CISSP
Sybex CISSP 2nd Edition
Freepracticetest.org

Overview:

I have been studying for the last 2 years. I first failed the test in Nov 2009. After a job change and moving to a different city; I studied on and off for the next 1.5 years. I attempted again back beginning of April and failed once more. I started studying everyday for 2 hours and really focusing on doing as many practice questions as possible. 3rd times the charm took the test on June 4 and passed. I found that the questions supplied by the resources above were no were near the actual difficultly that were on the exam. However doing AS MANY QUESTIONS AS POSSIBLE, better enforced the concepts learned. And its better to do as many questions as possible, than to read the book over and over again and not do any questions.

I must have read the AIO CISSP 3 times total cover to cover. Overall the book provides you good information, BUT MORE resources are required to pass the test. The official guide was also a GREAT resource and offered a ton of information. I read this book twice. The Sybex book I found to be ok...it did not offer any additional information that was not already offered by AIO or Official Guide. But it was a good resource to have.

For me personally, video training was essential. I am a visually / interactive learner, so reading things on a page does not reinforce concepts for me. Some level of interactive training is going to be required in order to pass the test. CBT Nuggets is the resource I used to mimic classroom/interactive training. CISSP for dummies I liked as a refresher before going in and taking the exam; It's a "must-have"!!