Options

Which Cert next!?

Maverick918Maverick918 Member Posts: 23 ■□□□□□□□□□
As always there are so many certs to go for. This begs the question. "Which one is going to benefit me most in the long run." I have so many options and its time I study up and take another one. I currently have A+ and Network+ with an Associates in Network Administration.

I'm a Systems Administrator so I was leaning more towards Security+ just because I have a lot of Servers to secure.

However 70-640 seems like a good choice too because our AD domain is terrible and I want to audit and re-organize.

I went for CCNA and was 100 shy of passing so I'm thinking of waiting for a bit on that one and going for another as I take time and watch a few video's to understand more on the concepts. And plus I work with Routers and Switches at work so getting the experience is going to benefit me in the understanding part.

I'm really interested in the Hacking/pentesting/security aspect of systems and really enjoy that part of it, but there is the question should I go for what I want to go for or what I should go for?

I'm torn, if you were in my shoes would you go for 70-640 or Security+ or bite the freakin bullet and bust out the CCNA?

Thoughts?

Comments

• Options
    dave330idave330i Member Posts: 2,091 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I'd go for Security+ then CCNA. Security+ is an easy cert to get and it sounds like you'll have plenty of opportunity to practice for CCNA at work. 640 will suck a lot of time.
    2018 Certification Goals: Maybe VMware Sales Cert
    "Simplify, then add lightness" -Colin Chapman
  • Options
    instant000instant000 Member Posts: 1,745
    I'm really interested in the Hacking/pentesting/security aspect of systems and really enjoy that part of it, but there is the question should I go for what I want to go for or what I should go for?