Looking for sql intergrated POS system

phoeneousphoeneous Member Posts: 2,333 ■■■■■■■□□□
Has anyone had any experience working with point-of-sale systems and integrating them with a database, preferably ms sql? My friend is going to start a business next year and she asked for some input. While my sql knowledge is good, I've never worked with a point-of-sale network before. Open source would be nice but not needed. Thoughts?

Comments

• pizzaboypizzaboy Member Posts: 244 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Microsoft Retail Management has SQL as the back end, you could take a look at that. I haven't fooled around with it in a while (3yrs), but when I used to it was fairly decent.
    God deserves my best
  • brad-brad- Member Posts: 1,218
    We used to use one called POS Partner, but stopped using it about 2 years ago. It used SQL express IIR. It was somewhat like quickbooks where you could install the database on one machine and all the others accessed it.

I tried looking htem up but seems they're out of business...but they'll probably all be similar. Setup on one, accessed from the others via shared folder.
  • JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin
    I used to write software for POS systems based on MS SQL and the Pick database system. I say stick with MySQL for server-side systems and SQLite for client-side systems. And use Linux and Ruby if you have the experience. Stay away from stuff that needs to be commercially licensed until the business is making a profit.