MCDST expiring on 30th... whats the alternative?

ehsan103ehsan103 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone,

I graduated last year and got my first temporary help desk support job in October, which lasted for 3 months. Since Jan I have been looking for a job, i am getting the interviews but am always beaten by someone who has more experience. I want to learn for a certificate, was thinking about the MCSDT, but that is retiring on the 30th June, so no chance of getting that certificate at all. Any suggestions on other alternatives to the MCDST certificate?
icon_sad.gif

Comments

• shon541shon541 Member Posts: 136
    If you know the material, you have a couple of days. The alternative is taking 70-680 and 70-685 for Windows 7.
  • DevilsbaneDevilsbane Member Posts: 4,214 ■■■■■■■■□□
    The Alternative is going to Windows 7.

MCITP: Enterprise Desktop Administrator 7
    and/or
    MCITP: Enterprise Desktop Support Technician 7

For the Desktop administrator you need the 70-680 and the 70-686. For Desktop support it is the 70-680 and the 70-685. So by doing the 680, 685, and 686 you can get both.

http://www.microsoft.com/learning/en/us/certification/mcitp.aspx#tab2
    Decide what to be and go be it.
    shon541 wrote: »
    If you know the material, you have a couple of days. The alternative is taking 70-680 and 70-685 for Windows 7.

A couple days, and if you don't make it you lose a bunch of money. At this point it is probably the better move to go on to the 70-680. You also have to consider that testing centers are likely already booked. At least where I live they are normally booked a week or 2 out, but you also have an extra load because people are trying to finish the exams retiring as well as use up their voucher packs that expire on the 30th.

If you want a windows XP cert, the 70-270 is very similar to the 70-271 but it isn't retiring and actually covers more technical information on the OS rather than supporting users.

And welcome to the forums!