Another advice thread..

osJoeosJoe Member Posts: 61 ■■□□□□□□□□
I first would like to say that this forum has been a huge help, and would like to thank everyone for all the info that has been posted and will be posted on here!! :)

I have no job related experience in IT at all. None. I have just been playing around with computers for about 10 years now so I know my way around windows, setting up small networks and securing them. Just the easy stuff anyone that is interested in computers would know.

My main goal is to land a job in the infosec community somewhere. I will be starting my 4 year degree in IT in about 2 months. Thanks to this great website I learned about all these certifications and I'm now a week away from taking my security+ exam.

I would just like to get your opinions on a path that someone in my situation should take or could take to get the ball rolling early on. I understand that some of these exams are expensive and unfortunately I don't have a company that will pay for them.

Quick summary: No experience in IT/InfoSec. Wanting to get into the Infosec field. Starting 4yr Degree in IT soon. Just wondering where I should go after security+, or how to get some experience.

Comments

• JinuyrJinuyr Member Posts: 251 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Most people will likely ask you for clarification on what you would like to do. Information Security can be a very broad and diverse field. You have chosen a great starting point with the Security+. Most people depending on their expected goal and environment will either pursue MCSA:Security, CCNA:Security, or the SSCP from (ISC)2.

It may be a good idea to see how well you do with the Security+, find your strengths and interests and proceed from there.

Good luck!
  • osJoeosJoe Member Posts: 61 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Hi, thanks for your time!

I'd like to start with (ISC)2 but there is no way of doing that without having the necessary work experience and someone who already has the CERT to endorse me?