VCP4 self pay? Am I crazy?

paleguyinthenocpaleguyinthenoc Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm a contractor and considering going after VCP4. I use ESX 4.1/VMWare on a daily basis, and I've historically done well on exams.

That being said, my parent company does essentially nothing for me, and if I want this cert, I'm on my own. Considering a course is required for this cert, I don't know if I'm crazy thinking of going after it on my own or what.

Has anyone ever self-paid for this or any other expensive-to-get cert? Did you regret it?

Comments

• cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    I will do VCP probably next year after 5 comes out. I hope my employer assists but if not I will gladly pay for it for two reasons:

1. Self-actualization. As Maslow said, "what a man can be, must be." I'm passionate about virtualization, specifically VMware products. Doing what you love, because you love it is priceless.

2. Because I can

Seriously, You can't go wrong validating your skill set. That VCP will come in handy when you get fed up and decide to look for a new employer who appreciates the effort you put towards the cert.
  • dave330idave330i Member Posts: 2,091 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I self paid for the course. My wife had some doubts, but I didn't.

Go to any IT career fair and mention to the recruiter that you're a VCP. Your resume will most likely move to the top of the pile.
    2018 Certification Goals: Maybe VMware Sales Cert
    "Simplify, then add lightness" -Colin Chapman
  • kevozzkevozz Member Posts: 305 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Check out this thread further down the page:

http://www.techexams.net/forums/virtualization/62490-where-can-i-take-vmware-vsphere-install-configure-manage-v4-1-affordable.html

You can also try the VMware IT Academy Program and possibly get it cheaper through a college:

Participants
  • MentholMooseMentholMoose Member Posts: 1,525 ■■■■■■■■□□
    ^^this