Becoming a software developer

modatechnomodatechno Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
I will be finishing my masters in applied and computational mathematics in a year or so and am considering entering into software development. I am new to this field, and have no idea how to prepare for a career in this profession. I would like to know what skills I should have (programming skills) in order to get a job as a software developer or software engineer? I know C++ and am learning Java on my own. When ever I look at job listings, I see a long list of desired skills that employers are looking for (this is for the entry level positions), is it possible to have all these skills upon graduation? Should I obtain certifications, if so, what type of certifications should I seek? I know I'm asking a lot of questions but I am really confused as to how I should begin this process. Thank you so much, any advice would be helpful.

Comments

• thomas130thomas130 Member Posts: 184
    I just started getting into programming for project stuff for work. The only advise I would is certification is'nt really a thing needed I don't think. Employees will more likely want a profolio on projects you work on. To prove your ablility a certification does'nt really do that.

I might be wrong or right I'm sure a true developer will be able give you better advise

Good luck anyway :)
  • gouki2005gouki2005 Member Posts: 197
    thomas130 wrote: »
    I just started getting into programming for project stuff for work. The only advise I would is certification is'nt really a thing needed I don't think. Employees will more likely want a profolio on projects you work on. To prove your ablility a certification does'nt really do that.

I might be wrong or right I'm sure a true developer will be able give you better advise

Good luck anyway :)