Typical Day

cxzar20cxzar20 Member Posts: 168
I thought it would be interesting to start a thread for people considering a career in IT. Feel free to post a "day in the life" from your job. I work as a Senior Network Architect in Tampa and this was my Thursday last week:

6:00am - Alarm Goes Off
7:00am - Drive to work.
7:30am - Arrive at work, check e-mails, put out morning fires
7:40am - Surf the web for the latest news
9:20am - Get some coffee, formulate a plan for things to do today
9:30am - Having issues with a Cisco IOS release that we pushed to many sites in the network. Working directly with Cisco on this issue but neither Cisco nor I have been able to recreate it in our respective labs. We have a router from a different site that arrived and will try to recreate the issue in our lab again.
9:35am - Began building the testbed. It is small consisting of only a switch and 3800 series router to test connectivity across a T1 link. Trying to determine if there is a bug with this certain version of IOS code.
10:15am - Could not recreate the issue as connectivity tests were successful between the devices, back to the drawing board.
10:30am - Informed operations supervisors of the test result, will need to come up a new plan of action with my group and theirs. Operations involves Tier I/II support and I work in Tier III engineering.
10:45am - Call up customer in order to get more details about a request for an upgrade at one of their sites. This is to determine what services will be running and how many people will be at the site. This will determine the equipment they will need and the bandwidth provisioned.
11:05am - Auditing devices in the network based on configuration specifications determined by the customer and my team. This is part of an ongoing project that I am in charge of.
11:45am - More web surfing
12:00pm - Lunch - I normally go at 1 but have other obligations at that time today