Cisco Three Layer Hierarchy?

MattMcNabbMattMcNabb Member Posts: 48 ■■□□□□□□□□
I am currently studying for the CCNA and I am struggling with visualizing the application of Cisco's design model. I know that this is a bit outside the scope of the CCNA but ultimately I may be designing a small or medium business network and I would like to be able to apply best practice methods when doing so.

So are there any practical tutorials regarding how to apply the ideas of Core, Distribution, and Access layer design. For instance, where would the Core be in a typical medium sized network? Would this simply be the WAN connections between sites? Is there any need for a Core layer if there is only one physical site?

I am picturing a single site design that simply has switches for host access and routers to provide inter-vlan communication but this doesn't include any Core services. Is this a problem?

Sorry if this seems like a dumb question.
“It is the job that is never started that takes longest to finish.”

Comments

• Forsaken_GAForsaken_GA Member Posts: 4,024
    MattMcNabb wrote: »
    I am currently studying for the CCNA and I am struggling with visualizing the application of Cisco's design model. I know that this is a bit outside the scope of the CCNA but ultimately I may be designing a small or medium business network and I would like to be able to apply best practice methods when doing so.

So are there any practical tutorials regarding how to apply the ideas of Core, Distribution, and Access layer design. For instance, where would the Core be in a typical medium sized network? Would this simply be the WAN connections between sites? Is there any need for a Core layer if there is only one physical site?

I am picturing a single site design that simply has switches for host access and routers to provide inter-vlan communication but this doesn't include any Core services. Is this a problem?

Sorry if this seems like a dumb question.