Options

NEED ADVICE HELP! About Security+

sharpescaladesharpescalade Inactive Imported Users Posts: 29 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey-

I passed my A+ and Network+ fairly easy. I mean I studied pretty hard but it wasnt rocket science.

I picked up my Security+ book today and read the whole thing. It pretty much seems to focus on PKI/SSL/ACL's/PPP/PPTP/L2PT or so.

Can anyone tell me, as far as difficulty, how hard is this test in comparison to A+ or NET+??

I noticed also, the passing score seems to be "higher" than all the other exams I have taken...is this because this exam is considered "easier" and thus you should know more....or is it harder and they want a higher score?? I dont understand?

And anyone taking the test..what was the MOST accurate study tool ? Which book EXACTLY was most like the test and resembled the questions on the actual test?

I would really enjoy someone who has passed this test to simply take 5 mins and help a guy out....fill me in on what this exam is about really, difficultly factor compared to the other exams I've taken, and what i should consentrate on to pass.....cause COME on there is like 10000 acromyns and different security mechanics...i mean EVERY page had a totally different ACL,TBACS,RADIUS,TATCAS....does the test go over ALL of them or realistically, does the test just go over the BIG ones?
Compaq Accredited Professional ~ HP Systems Engineer ~ CompTIA A+ ~ CompTIA Network+ ~ CompTIA i-Net+ ~ CompTIA HTI+ ~ CompTIA Project+ ~ CompTIA Security+ ~ INTEL Certified Solutions Provider

Comments

• Options
    BreadfanBreadfan Member Posts: 282 ■■■□□□□□□□
    The Sybex book has some wrong information in it so i would shy away from that one. If you are new to security (as most of us are/were) then I eould recommend the Syngress or Que Training books as well as the Technotes on this site. The exam cram book isnt bad (but you should only read that one until you have completed the other one.