Starting my first sys admin job next week

willanderson1111willanderson1111 Member Posts: 43 ■■□□□□□□□□
I am moving from desktop support where I did very little SA functions. I am a bit nervous and fearful of how this new gig is going to turn out. There will 1 Sharepoint Admin, 1 SA (me) and a breakfix guy. Any tips or suggestions?

Comments

• ZzBloopzZZzBloopzZ Member Posts: 192
    I am moving from desktop support where I did very little SA functions. I am a bit nervous and fearful of how this new gig is going to turn out. There will 1 Sharepoint Admin, 1 SA (me) and a breakfix guy. Any tips or suggestions?

Just wanted to congratulate you! I am a recent grad and have a interview tomorrow for a Desktop Support Analyst, which I know will lead into a Sys Admin position in a year or two.

Be comfortable with being uncomfortable my man. This is how you will succeed in life. Thoughts of doubt and fear do nothing but lead to failure. Think positive everyday. Your mind is like a garden. You must cultivate it aka water the plants, remove weeds etc. If you don't maintain it then naturally a messy jungle full of weeds shall grow. Weeds = thoughts of negativity, fear and doubt. Beautiful garden = positive thoughts.

Best of luck mate, you'll do fine!
  • nethackernethacker Member Posts: 184 ■■■□□□□□□□

i really don't see the reason why you should be nervous.Are you not knowledgeable enough to handle the position?in my opinion I would say NO because you won't be solving problems everyday.You can get to know more about the entire infrastructure.with your knowledge of networks(which i assume you have), you can succeed so don't look down upon yourself.
    Good luck icon_cheers.gif
    JNCIE | CCIE | GCED
  • EveryoneEveryone Member Posts: 1,661
    Congrats on the new job! Just do your best, I'm sure you'll be fine.
  • ChooseLifeChooseLife Member Posts: 941 ■■■■■■■□□□