70-642 Passed

JaCkNiFeJaCkNiFe Member Posts: 96 ■■□□□□□□□□
I sat for the 70-642 today and passed on my first attempt :). You really need to know your details to get through this one.

I used:
- MCTS: Windows Server 2008 R2 Complete Study Guide
- MS Press 70-642 (1st edition)
- Labsim practice exams
- Virtualized Labs

I studied for this exam and the 70-680 over the last 2 months and found the material complimented each other a bit (5-10% overlap).

I am sitting for the 70-680 Friday.
Lab on!

Comments

• BreadfanBreadfan Member Posts: 282 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Congrats! and good luck on Friday as well.

I am hoping to sit this one soon.

How was the MSP book (lab-wise)? I am using the Sybex Complete R2 Guide as well and find that some of the labs seem too basic. I also have the labsims and CBT-Nuggets and Virtual labs.

Any other tips would be great.

BreadFan
    Mark Twain

“If I cannot drink Bourbon and smoke cigars in Heaven than I shall not go.

• dave330idave330i Member Posts: 2,091 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Congratulations.

The more I study this exam, the more I hate this exam. It feels like half the material is "How to turn a Windows 2008 R2 server into a router, so you'll never use it in real life."
    2018 Certification Goals: Maybe VMware Sales Cert
    "Simplify, then add lightness" -Colin Chapman
  • JaCkNiFeJaCkNiFe Member Posts: 96 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Breadfan wrote: »
    Congrats! and good luck on Friday as well.

I am hoping to sit this one soon.

How was the MSP book (lab-wise)? I am using the Sybex Complete R2 Guide as well and find that some of the labs seem too basic. I also have the labsims and CBT-Nuggets and Virtual labs.

Any other tips would be great.

BreadFan