CISSP? Now or later?

PaperlanternPaperlantern Member Posts: 352
Well, I wanted to ask this here knowing the community is very knowledgable and would be able to point me where I should be going.

I recently (November of last year) took, and passed the Security+ exam for CompTIA. in the wake of that exam, i felt that I enjoyed the material, and the testing process and felt like I wanted more. Well the year has sped past a ways, but I still feel the same. Additionally, my employer is creating a new position in the Security field to handle all of the security aspects of the company. I am the main candidate for that position as it is basically being created for me. Spurring this on, is a lot of our clients requiring the company have a CISSP on staff or at least on contract retainer.

I currently have been in the IT field about 8 years (not including 2 years i was a office administrator for a mom and pop computer shop where i did mostly front desk reception, shipping/receiving, parts ordering/returns and tech dispatching, if you include those 2 years then its been 10 years in the industry). Of those 10 years, I've been involved with a number of things, but not much true Security until I came here about 3 years ago. My role here hasnt been an active security one, but have dabbled in firewall policies, physical door control policies, password creation policies, data retention and encryption bits and pieces, but nothing HEAVY.

I'm wondering if I should even be aiming as high as CISSP and I should aim to a lower cert first and with another year under my belt then try CISSP, or if it is something I should be able to do with the right materials and study aids and I'm just psyching myself out. I didnt find Sec+ difficult, but it was interesting for me.

If you think I can do CISSP, what materials or resources would you recommend I buy/use or obtain before I start my journey.

Any opinions and thoughts are welcome.

Comments

• JinuyrJinuyr Member Posts: 251 ■■□□□□□□□□