Certs for the Linux Novice

speedy162005speedy162005 Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi All,

I'm currently working in a call center for a specific piece of legal software and I'm looking to make a career change. I have an associates degree in Network Administration and I am currently in college going for a degree in Computer Engineering, with a follow up program that will focus specifically on security.

However, because I work full time, this degree is a ways off. I was looking to get some Linux certifications because that is the area I'd like to ultimately focus on because there are quite a few businesses in the area hiring for those positions.

I did a quarter of Linux 5 years ago but I never got a chance to really pursue anything with it. I want to get some certifications, but I'm not sure on which one would be the best to get for a relative Linux novice.

Any thoughts on good certs?

Comments

• crrussell3crrussell3 Member Posts: 561
    LPIC-1 is a great place to start. Also, Techexams does have a forum section dedicated to Linux Certifications, so I would suggest reading there and seeing if a mod could move your post.
    MCTS: Windows Vista, Configuration
    MCTS: Windows WS08 Active Directory, Configuration
  • DevilsbaneDevilsbane Member Posts: 4,214 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I'm not an expert on the subject of Linux, but a few months ago I was looking into Linux+. Passing this will get you Linux+ and LPIC-1 if I remember correctly.
    Decide what to be and go be it.
  • speedy162005speedy162005 Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thanks for the information. When I originally started writing the post, it was more general than what it wound up being when I posted it, hence it winding up in the wrong board.
  • Bl8ckr0uterBl8ckr0uter Inactive Imported Users Posts: 5,031 ■■■■■■■■□□