JNCIA study time

Chris_Chris_ Member Posts: 326
Hi all,

This is my first foray into the world of Juniper. I'm currently studying for the JNCIA (JN101) exam and I'm just wondering how you long you guys spent on it.

I'm more than happy with the network fundamentals involved. I'm reading the fast Track PDFs from juniper and also going through the 'Junos as a second language' cbt on the website. I've built an olive for GNS3 (probably the hardest thing out of it all - me and linux are not good friends) and I'm labbing it up quite happily.

It all seems fairly easy and I was thinking of going for the exam within a week or two. Does anyone think I'm jumping the gun here? or is that how long you'd expect for someone with a strong cisco background?

Cheers in advance

Chris
Going all out for Voice. Don't worry Data; I'll never forget you
:study: CVoice [X] CIPT 1 [ ] CIPT 2 [ ] CAPPS [ ] TVOICE [ ]

Comments

• ConstantlyLearningConstantlyLearning Member Posts: 445
    From what I've heard, if you have a cisco R&S background, it's a piece of cake.
    "There are 3 types of people in this world, those who can count and those who can't"
  • bigmantenorbigmantenor Member Posts: 233
    From what I've heard, if you have a cisco R&S background, it's a piece of cake.

This is what I've been reading as well, and I hope it is accurate. I plan on working on the JNCIA sometime after my CCNA is done. Can't ever have too much knowledge icon_thumright.gif.
  • Bl8ckr0uterBl8ckr0uter Inactive Imported Users Posts: 5,031 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Just curious, do you work with Juniper at all?
  • Chris_Chris_ Member Posts: 326
    Just curious, do you work with Juniper at all?

Not to any great level, just need to log into them every now and then to run a few show commands for fault finding - never had to configure anything on them. Another department looks after all the Juniper config work.
  • Bl8ckr0uterBl8ckr0uter Inactive Imported Users Posts: 5,031 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Chris_ wrote: »