Options

On going education

charadeurcharadeur Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
I believe I will have no problem passing a CISSP audit. I have been working in several domains for many years (close to 20 in the business.) However one thing has me a little dismayed. It appears you have to do 40 hours of training per year for three years. Now there was a time that was no problem. These days companies are not so quick to send people away for training or even pay for online classes that are $3k plus.

Are my reading of the requirements correct? Is there any on line training you guys suggest that qualifies that does not cost more than my first automobile?

Comments

• Options
    JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,028 Admin
    You are talking about the CPEs (Continuing Professional Education Credits) that are part of the requirement to maintain (ISC)2 certifications? You can pick up 40/year from attending security conferences and professional group meetings (1 hour = 1 CPE), attending many free online seminars and events, and by volunteering to be an exam items writer or exam proctor. Even subscribing to SC Magazine will net you 5 CPEs.

Search this forum for "CPE" to find past discussions with other ideas. Also check out this PDF.
  • Options
    charadeurcharadeur Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
    thanks for the quick reply. I see Podcast are also listed in the pdf so I would assume ones like Security Now would qualify. That makes it much easier. I did not see any free training on ISC2 website but maybe there just is not any in the near future.
  • Options
    mochaaddictmochaaddict Member Posts: 42 ■■□□□□□□□□