Ignore these 10 Outdated Pieces Of Career Advice

blargoeblargoe Member Posts: 4,174 ■■■■■■■■■□
IT guy since 12/00

Recent: 11/2019 - RHCSA (RHEL 7); 2/2019 - Updated VCP to 6.5 (just a few days before VMware discontinued the re-cert policy...)
Working on: RHCE/Ansible
Future: Probably continued Red Hat Immersion, Possibly VCAP Design, or maybe a completely different path. Depends on job demands...

Comments

• powerfoolpowerfool Member Posts: 1,666 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Good stuff... I can't say I disagree with any of them, except the informal language... you don't need to read likely a dictionary or attorney, but it shouldn't be conversational, either.

Lifehacker had a post a few days ago about the "weaknesses" question. The suggestion was that you pick an irrelevant weakness... e.g. I am not very good at bookkeeping or accounting and I should work on that as a business skill, but that is why I am applying for an HR position... so that I can use my strengths. That was a paraphrase of their example... it is rather cheesy, but it gets the point across.
    2024 Renew: [ ] AZ-204 [ ] AZ-305 [ ] AZ-400 [ ] AZ-500 [ ] Vault Assoc.
    2024 New: [X] AWS SAP [ ] CKA [ ] Terraform Auth/Ops Pro
  • SteveLordSteveLord Member Posts: 1,717
    Objectives and references.....hell yes.
    WGU B.S.IT - 9/1/2015 >>> ???
  • jdchildersjdchilders Member Posts: 50 ■■□□□□□□□□
    SteveLord wrote: »
    Objectives and references.....hell yes.

Its your opinion that you need them, or can ignore them?

I have completely phased out references from my resume. I used to use "available upon request line", but have since kicked it completely out. Every application system i've applied to online has a spot for those to be entered manually anyway. Otherwise I agree...they'd ask for them.

I do however, still have an objective statement. Whats TE's viewpoint on them?
  • RappellerRappeller Member Posts: 67 ■■□□□□□□□□