Recent graduate need help in job market

benmarkbenmark Member Posts: 16 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi Everyone,

First of all thanks to everyone in advance for their help and time. I just recently graduated with my Bachelor of science degree in Computer Engineering. The Engineering job market is really difficult for me since all my experience is in IT.

So, what I want to do is go for my masters in electrical engineering in a few years, but till then get a decent job in the IT field and save up for my masters.

However, I'm having a really tough time getting callbacks and the callbacks for jobs that I have gotten get cancelled, pay $13/hr, or I never hear back from the recruiter without even getting a interview. I have gotten one interview with Cisco, made it to the third round and didn't get the job, which was for a Technical support engineer. The positions I'm applying for are entry level tier 1/2 desktop support or helpdesk.

I have 5 years of tier 2 support experience. I've interned at Johnson & Johnson for a year as an information management Co-op and worked for IBM for 1.5 years as a tier 2 technical support analyst. I've gotten my resume professionally done twice but still no bites. I'm starting to think my lack of certifications may be holding me back (it did for the Cisco position). So I'm wondering if anyone has any advice. I was looking at getting the CCNA or possibly Microsoft and starting with the 70-680. Any tips in general would be helpful. The technical positions i'm applying for are all out of state because there aren't many in my current state.

Thanks again!

Comments

• LoMoLoMo Banned Posts: 84 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Start working on your certs and maybe think about moving.
  • ArmymanisArmymanis Member Posts: 304
    Apply, Apply, Apply.
  • MC85MC85 Member Posts: 20 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Yeah the job market sucks out there. I've been stuck as a helpdesk tech since I graduated a few years ago. :/