Is all of IT like this? *Help*

humbleboyhumbleboy Member Posts: 14 ■□□□□□□□□□
I need some advice and a place to vent a little...

Long story short, my current job has me really questioning my career choice and I don't have enough experience to know if it's like this everywhere. I've wanted to do IT since the fifth grade and I saw a computer for the first time. I have a degree in the field and have never doubted this was what I wanted to do. Flash forward to present time...

I'm an admin at a company that is notorious for running people into the ground. There is no respect for personal time. They call all hours of the day and night. Some people are EXPECTED to work a full day and then start back with maintenance from 8 till midnight 5 days a week. The pay is a little sub-par and the benifits are the same. You are often stopped as your walking out the door and told "Hey, there is such and such going on tonight and we need you there, don't make plans."

I REALLY don't want to abandon my career but I'm very unhappy with my current situation. My co-workers all seem to agree but none of us have super long careers to know if everywhere is like this. I've always considered myself an overachiever but I just can't seem to get my head above water here. I know not every place is like this, but are others similar?

The point of all this is the ask: Is all of IT field like this or is it more so this place?

Thanks to everyone for listening, it helped to get it off my chest!

Comments

• UnixGuyUnixGuy Mod Posts: 4,564 Mod
    humbleboy wrote: »
    The point of all this is the ask: Is all of IT field like this or is it more so this place?

The answer is: No.

There are more relax environments, and different kinds of responsibilities. It's all about the company, your responsibilities, and your boss.