Options

Help needed to choose the right certification to start with

sujin1988sujin1988 Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all, first of all I would like to appreciate the good work you all have been doing here. I did go through a few threads in the forum but I couldn't find the answer for my question. So here it goes. I have a Bachelor's degree in Computer Science after which I worked for a call centre for 6 months. Then I moved to the UK for my Master's degree in Computer Networks. So far I haven't done any certification courses yet. Initially I had in mind to go with Cisco certifications since I am specializing in Networks. But then I started off a couple of days ago with the very basic certification available today A+. Even without reading through the book I tried the sample questions and I was able to score 13 out of 20. Now I feel A+ is too basic to start with since I am no beginner to this field. Should I still go ahead with it or should I start with any Microsoft certifications? If Microsoft certifications are recommended is MCSE a good choice to begin with? I would like to finish off atleast one certification within the next 4 months just in time for my graduation and job hunt. Kindly advice.

Comments

• Options
    mattlee09mattlee09 Member Posts: 205
    If you are specializing in networks, as you say, then begin with CCNA.

It is not 'basic' or 'entry-level', has a great 'ROI' so to speak, and if you already begun a Masters in Computer Networks I'd say you could definitely complete it in 4 months.

Pick up the Cisco Press by Odom and Todd Lammles 7th edition and begin icon_study.gificon_study.gif
  • Options
    lordylordy Member Posts: 632 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Well, choosing your certs should depend on the path you want to go.

So what do you want to do in the future? Networking, Microsoft Admin, Linux Guru?
    Working on CCNP: [X] SWITCH --- [ ] ROUTE --- [ ] TSHOOT
    Goal for 2014: RHCA
    Goal for 2015: CCDP
  • Options