Juniper??

GOZCUGOZCU Member Posts: 234
Currently I am studying for CCNA. Sometimes I am checking the job opportunities and I see "Juniper" at the requirement section so often.

What do you think guys? CCNA and then Juniper Certificate? Necessary? makes you one step ahead ?

Comments

• luisYmeluisYme Member Posts: 23 ■□□□□□□□□□
    hi-
    we used to run cisco and juniper at my job. now we're just cisco. juniper hardware and junOs is *very* different than cisco, so if you need to know how to operate juniper routers/switches then at least knowing the material for the first juniper certification is a requirement.

so if you get both you have a broader appeal to potential employers, which is probably good in this market. however, the more advanced positions and those who have those skills (ccnp, ccie, etc.) get paid a lot more.

i just finished ccent and will pursue ccna and ccnp.

hope this helps. icon_cool.gif
  • GOZCUGOZCU Member Posts: 234
    luisYme wrote: »
    hi-
    we used to run cisco and juniper at my job. now we're just cisco. juniper hardware and junOs is *very* different than cisco, so if you need to know how to operate juniper routers/switches then at least knowing the material for the first juniper certification is a requirement.

so if you get both you have a broader appeal to potential employers, which is probably good in this market. however, the more advanced positions and those who have those skills (ccnp, ccie, etc.) get paid a lot more.

i just finished ccent and will pursue ccna and ccnp.

hope this helps. icon_cool.gif

Thanks a lot icon_cheers.gif
  • Chris_Chris_ Member Posts: 326
    If you're already familiar with networking and cisco devices then Juniper is not that big a jump. I'm currently studying for the JNCIA and it's all quite simple - a bit like drivin g in a different country!!