Preparing for a phone interview for a Network Engineer Position

toshinden5toshinden5 Member Posts: 24 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi All,

I am glad I stumbled upon this forum. I want to introduce myself, I have currently about 2 years of IT Networking experience with a bachelors degree in Electrical Engineering Technology and recently a CCNA Certification. I am currently employed working as a NOC 3rd shift, but looking to get out 3rd shift and start actually doing Networking stuff. I don't have any experience in firewalls, voip, and wireless but I do have some knowledge on how they work. I have a phone interview as a Network Engineer tomorrow and looking for some tips. Here is the job description:

This individual will act primarily as second level support for the IT Infrastructure Team. The ideal candidate will have at least 3 years experience supporting, implementing, maintaining and troubleshooting various network systems that include: Cisco Routers, Cisco switches, ASA firewalls, Cisco VoIP, Cisco Wireless, Riverbed WAN Accelerators, Frame Relay, SCOM server monitoring, Solar winds Orion, CiscoSecure ACS, Windows 2003 and 2008 and daily device log reviews and proactive system patching, upgrade and replacement.
ESSENTIAL DUTIES/RESPONSIBILITIES:
Tier two support for all network services including but not limited to: Cisco Routers,
Cisco Switches, Cisco ASA firewalls, Cisco VoIP, Riverbed WAN Accelerators, WAN
circuits, CiscoSecure ACS, Cisco Clean Access, Windows 2003 and 2008, Windows print services, file services, Active Directory and DNS.
Understanding of network standards and practices including: OSI Model, TCP/IP, OSPF, BGP, QoS and MPLs.
Understanding of Layer 1 and 2 protocols such as: T-1, DS3, Ethernet, Switching, VLAN*s, HSRP and STP.
Understanding of NTFS permissions, Active Directory, DNS and Group Policy.
Understanding of Change Management.
Work with peers to analyze network problems and identify solutions.