Overcoming information overload

kerxkerx Member Posts: 38 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone, I'm new here to the forum. This is my first post, but I've been reading the big threads all day today, and I'm really glad I found this forum.

My big question here is how to overcome information overload, and strategies you take to not get distracted.

I will start with a proper introduction paragraph below, since this is my first post, and I hope it will help give you guys an idea of where I am.

+
| Intro
+
I have been a Linux systems administrator for the past 6 years. I started off working at a very busy NOC in Downtown, Los Angeles, as a Junior Sys Admin, pulling the night shift mostly. My roles included:
- Building servers (1Us, 2Us, etc) for new orders
- Upgrading/troubleshooting hardware issues
- Doing initial configuration and rackmounting cisco switches (2950's)
- Reboots, and troubleshooting network connectivity, etc...

I then worked for a software company, where I managed the in-house network, and managed ~30 remote Linux boxes (version control, apache, security, etc).

I have dropped out of the work industry, and have set a goal for myself currently to go back to school and to also certify. So at this time, I am a part-time student completing my associates degree at a community college around here, and working on my Cisco certifications, to move into the networking industry professionally.
+
| END: Intro
+

So ~2 months ago, I grabbed the INE AAP, and begun w/ the ICND1 and ICND2 videos, which I just completed. I bought ~$500 worth of used Cisco books (most of them are the recommendations that most CCIEs give).

I'm moving fast, but at the same time I'm standing still. icon_sad.gif

I feel like I'm already prepared to dive in and begin with all the CCIE related material (videos in AAP, books, etc.). However, I don't even have my CCNA nailed down just yet.