some advice

johnhumphreyjohnhumphrey Member Posts: 22 ■□□□□□□□□□
Just need a bit of advice. I have been working in a Dr's office for 13 yrs doing clerical work for about 12 shrinks. I have a Associates in IT and have a certifcation in A+ and N+ and working on Security+. I really cannot stand doing the work that I do anymore and wondering if you would leave a job where you have worked for 13 yrs to do Contract work for a Temp Agency that might only be 6 months or more. I have done a few deployments with my current company but no real intense IT work. I have done a lot of break/fix work for my co-workers personnal computers but really don't have any professional job releated experience. Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks
John

Comments

• DigitalZeroOneDigitalZeroOne Member Posts: 234 ■■■□□□□□□□
    It's really hard to answer this question...I'm someone that says people should take risks, but it really depends on the individuals situation. Do you have children, a spouse, a significant other? That will make a huge difference in what you do. Typically if someone is really unhappy at a job and they have been that way for a long time, you pretty much have to change that situation.

You need to make sure you calculate the worse case scenario and proceed from there. The best advice I could give now is to make sure you have enough money in reserves to live off of, take the Suze Orman 8-month emergency fund approach.
  • johnhumphreyjohnhumphrey Member Posts: 22 ■□□□□□□□□□
    yes I am married and have a 6 yr old. With the economy today I'm just not sure. I really hate to me miserable and dread going to work every day. Then again I don't want to be unemployed and back to square one. It looks like its impossible to get hired directly by a big company. Most of the companies these days are contracted out. Not sure really what to do. Don't have enough work releated experience to get hired anywhere.
  • HypntickHypntick Member Posts: 1,451 ■■■■■■□□□□